The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Postgraduate studies

A doctoral programme consists of two parts: courses and thesis, forming a total of 240 ECTS credits, in which the doctoral thesis is to account for at least 120 credits. A doctoral programme involves a total of four years of full-time study. Find more information below.

Director of doctoral studies


Director of doctoral studies: Emma Kritzberg
Contact information for Emma Kritzberg –


Director of doctoral studies: Viveka Alfredsson
Contact information for Viveka Alfredsson –

Environmental Science

Director of doctoral studies: Tobias Ambjörnsson
Contact information for Tobias Ambjörnsson –


Director of doctoral studies: Helena Filipsson
Contact information for Helena Filipsson –

Mathematical disciplines

Director of doctoral studies: Sandra Pott
Contact information for Sandra Pott –

Medical Radiation Physics

Director of doctoral studies: Ronnie Wirestam
Contact information for Ronnie Wirestam –

Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science

Director of doctoral studies: Cecilia Akselsson
Contact information for Cecilia Akselsson –


Director of doctoral studies: Göran Frank
Contact information for Göran Frank –


Aleksandra Popovic
Education coordinator, third cycle education
Contact information for Aleksandra Popovic –