Election to the Electoral College

For the term of office 1 March 2021 to 29 February 2024

Four representatives from the Faculty of Science are to be elected to the Electoral College for the coming term of office. Three of the representatives should be teaching staff with research expertise and one representative is a member of other staff.

About the election

Information about the election will be sent by email on 4 February to everyone who is entitled to vote. The ballot is valid for one submission up to 25 February, 13:00.

A public count will take place on 25 February, 14:00.

The Nominating Committee’s proposal

The nominating committee suggests the following candidates.

Viveka Alfredsson

Portrait. Photo.

I am a professor of chemistry at the Department of Chemistry. I am very much involved in education issues (first, second and third cycle education). Together with an enthusiastic teaching team, I teach the level 1 course in chemistry – a course that I developed together with a colleague and for which I share responsibility as course director. I am the coordinator for the graduate school QDETAILSS. My research field focuses on inorganic porous materials. I want to strive for a broad and inclusive university in which education and research are characterised by high quality.

Joakim Nilsson

Portrait. Photo.

I have been administrative manager at the Department of Biology for just over two years. I can contribute to the Electoral College by being very familiar with the workings of our faculty and its various departments. I combine this with the ability to maintain an outsider’s perspective as I have worked at the University for a relatively short time. I like working with overarching issues and looking at the whole picture, I have an analytical approach and am good at getting resources to the areas they benefit most.

Per Persson

Portrait. Photo.

I am a professor of molecular geochemistry and director of the Centre for Environmental and Climate Science, and I previously worked at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Stanford University and Umeå University. My experiences of academic leadership from Umeå include being assistant head of the Department of Chemistry, chair of the faculty’s research board and pro dean. I have been involved in the Swedish Research Council for many years and am currently a member of its board. I hope to be able to contribute to the Electoral College with these experiences.

Oxana Smirnova

Portrait. Photo.

I am an associate professor at the Department of Physics, division of particle physics. I earned a PhD from Lund University in 1996, and work with experiments at CERN (European Council for Nuclear Research), where I study phenomena that create our universe. This research requires a lot of computing power, and I am one of the founders of the Nordic Tier1 data centre for CERN. In Lund, I teach physics, computor and programming skills and tools. In the Electoral College, I will collect my experiences from the first term of office and bring contributions as a teaching staff member and active researcher.

Nominated candidates

In connection with the nominating committee’s preparation of candidates, seven people were nominated by the organisation. Of these, the following accepted to stand as candidates for the assignment.

  • Per Persson, Centre for Environmental and Climate Science (CEC)
  • Anders Mikkelsen, Department of Physics
  • Edvin Lundgren, Department of Physics
  • Joachim Schnadt, Department of Physics
  • Joakim Nilsson, Department of Biology

Who is entitled to vote?

Employees at Lund University whose employment is at least 50 per cent within the Faculty of Science. The position should be permanent or at least two years of continuous employment at the Faculty.

PhD students with PhD student employment are not eligible to vote or nominate as they are considered students according to Chapter 1, Section 4 of the Higher Education Ordinance.

The register of voters was decided by the Vice-Chancellor on 14 January, 2021. The register of voters takes account of the conditions of employment that apply on 1 December, 2020.

Who is eligible?

A person employed at the Faculty of Science as a teaching staff member with research expertise can be elected to represent the teaching staff. A person employed at the Faculty of Science who is not a teaching staff member with research expertise can be elected as a representative of other staff categories.