The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Election to the Electoral College

Term of office: 1 March 2024 to 28 February 2027.

It is time to elect new members of the Electoral College for the next term of office. The Faculty of Science is to elect four members. The nomination period is 4 December to 19 January. Thereafter, the faculty's nominating committee will present its proposal and the election will be held on 9 –23 February.


The Nomination Committee proposes the following candidates:

  • Tomas Brage, teaching staff representative
  • Sofie Ceberg, teaching staff representative
  • Joakim Nilsson, other staff representative
  • Eva Åkesson, teaching staff representative

Presentation of the candidates

Tomas Brage

Portrait. Photo.

I am a professor of physics, with a focus on computational physics and laboratory astrophysics, and have worked as director of studies for first and second cycle education, but also collaborated with many different departments and faculties within the university. In addition to education and research, I have been involved in, among other things, internationalisation, equal opportunities projects, development of strategic plans, leadership training and core value-based work. I like to participate in the Electoral College because I realise that universities are facing an important time where good leadership becomes important – to be able to listen and anchor decisions sufficiently, but at the same time to be able to make decisions and lead. I would seek a leader who protects the fundamental values of the university, both the academic ones and those that deal with a good workplace with equality and equal conditions for a diversity of employees and students. I would be “bias” to those candidates who have learned – and continue to learn – good leadership.

Sofie Ceberg

Portrait. Photo.

I am associate professor in medical radiation physics and senior lecturer at the Department of Medical Radiation Physics. I want to join the Electoral College to learn more about, and contribute to, the university's work and to be able to influence the direction of future university management. In addition to managing the success factors that make us a great university, I believe in increased interdisciplinary collaboration across faculty boundaries with reduced barriers. I also believe in a clearer social commitment to inspire curiosity about science in the loud background noise of opinions, factoids, and fake facts. With my background in an interdisciplinary subject, and with my commitment to public communication, I look forward to being an asset to the Electoral College.

Joakim Nilsson

Portrait. Photo.

I have worked as an administrative manager at the Department of Biology for the last five years and have been a member of the Electoral College during the last term of office. In my career, I have always strived to see the bigger picture and work for the whole of an organisation, which makes this an assignment that suits me well. I am pleased and honoured to be nominated for a second term of office.


Eva Åkesson

Portrait. Photo.

I’m a professor of Chemical Physics at the Faculty of Science and employed at Lund University since 1996. I have many years of experience in university management through assignments as Pro Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Lund University and Vice-Chancellor at Uppsala University between 2012–2020. If I have the privilege of being a member of the Electoral College, I will bring with me experience of several recruitment processes for vice-chancellors and an understanding of what the vice-chancellor's role entails with the demands that are made both internally and externally.

About the Electoral College

The Electoral College consists of a maximum of 48 members (24 teacher representatives, 12 representatives of other staff and 12 students) who participate in the process of appointing vice-chancellor and deputy vice-chancellor, among other things. 

The Electoral College (

The faculty is to elect four members

The Faculty of Science is to elect:

  • Three representatives of teaching staff with research expertise
  • One representative of other staff

Who is entitled to nominate and vote?

You can nominate and vote if you are employed at Lund University and have at least 50 percent of your employment at the Faculty of Science. Your employment must be a permanent position or include at least two years of continuous employment at the faculty.

Doctoral students with a doctoral studentship are not entitled to vote or nominate as they are considered students according to the Higher Education Ordinance (Chapter 1, Section 4).

Who can be nominated and elected?

Teaching staff representatives must be employed at the faculty and be members of the teaching staff with research expertise (a professor or a person with a teaching position that requires a doctoral degree or equivalent competence).

Representatives of other staff must be employed at the faculty and not belong to the category of member of the teaching staff with research expertise.

Self-nomination is allowed.